top of page

ALL DAY GOOD DAY

please take out with proper credits!

Home: Welcome
Home: Blog2
Home: Subscribe

CONTACT

Desk with Book
Home: Contact
Search
  • Writer's picturec9girlz

Good Day With Newsen Interview




C9 Entertainment 10-member rookie girl group GOOD DAY has created an impact in the music industry.


Good Day will release its first mini album 'ALL DAY GOOD DAY' on August 30 at 6PM and makes their official debut. Except for Haeun, who has been a trainee for 7 years, the others have been trainees for about 1 year and 6 months to 2 years. In an interview with Newsen on the afternoon of the 23rd, Nayoon said, "I started my life as a trainee and this has been my very first company. I did not worry about the members, but I was pretty nervous about it. I am so glad to have my dream of debuting”. Cherry also said, "We have been practicing together for two years, but the time has finally come where we can spread our wings and actually debut; it feels like a chicken in a chick." (T/N: Very metaphoric but it’s kinda like they still feel like a chick despite being a chicken; still learning lots and all.)


Chaesol said, "The debut is just within a week and it seems like time has passed so fast, I'm shaking in excitement. Jiwon added, "When I debut, I finally feel like I have a job and have a sense of responsibility. I feel like I have to bear the burden but I can finally show what I have prepared." Lucky said, "Of course it is trembling and frightening but I want to show you what we have prepared."


"I've been practicing for a while since I was a child, so I feel so far away from my debut. So it’s quite hard to believe that it's (the debut) really in front of my nose, so I hope that a week pass by soon”, Bomin mentioned. "In my situation, I wasted half a lifetime that I have and I have seen a lot of friends who debuted. I was preparing for my debut and I was in another team from another company. It didn’t happen and 7 years past by. Our company (C9 Entertainment) has made our members and thought it's a good idea to make a debut with the members and I'm glad that I made a debut with them. A lot of time has passed and I have spent a lot of time looking forward to my debut”, Haeun said.


Heejin said, "The last time of being a trainee and the start of Good Day is only one week, but the feeling is so new. I have a strong desire to show myself as soon as possible, and I am happy to start Good Day with people who are too good." . Viva replied, "I do not have a sense of nervousness yet, but it’s only because I haven’t felt it.. I didn’t think it was possible to be able to debut. We will debut after 7 days and I want to show everything I have prepared to the public."


Genie said, "Once I was preparing for my debut, I thought that if the time comes, I’ll definitely make my debut. It seemed to be a good ending to the hard life, but as debut is approaching, it is now the beginning and it seems that there will a lot of responsibilities because I feel like there will be a lot of hardship and I shouldn’t consider them as something that it is easy to overcome and that I should also learn from it. There are a lot of people who are struggling for it. The more I come (out) and the more people I meet, then the more I feel that I should act more carefully and the more I think I should not do what I want to do in the future." (T/N: In short, if this is confusing, it means that Genie wants to be careful and not to be too greedy that it gets to her and ‘corrupts’ her)


In spite of the given debut, there were instances where they had conflicts before debut. Nayoon said, "We had several other friends before we had 10 members confirmed. When we were selected as the debut team along with some of the trainees who were in the showcase we had,, and it was the hardest time to leave them (for those who didn’t make it as the debut group)." Viva said, "We have recently moved to a dorm to live together, and I was working in the practice room but I did not have space to practice (in the dorm) so I practiced using a full-length mirror lying down in the dorm. Haeun said. "When I was like me, it was a little hard to see my friends who made their debut in the past and make their debut on stage. I used to practiced with Laboum members, MomoLand’s Nancy, and Sonamoo’s Nahyun."


The name "Good Day" is the name of the team which represents everyone who would want to hear their music and stages. "We have three units in Good Day: Good Morning, Good Night, and Midnight," Heejin said. "From morning till evening we want to give the listeners good energy to have a Good Day."


There are four tracks on this album. The title song 'Rolly' is a dance song that Jung Jae Yeop, a composer, who has worked with the production team Avenger Seung. It is anticipated that all generations will be able to listen to the excitement by adding retro sensibility to the trendy sound.


The second track 'Beyond This Moment' is GOOD MORNING unit’s track, which is composed of Nayoon, Jiwon, Lucky, Bomin, and Genie. ‘Fly Away’ is by GOOD NIGHT unit and is composed by HeeJin and Haeun. The vocal unit GOOD NIGHT plans to raise the sensitivity of the listeners to the fullest with the third track 'Fly Away'. Finally, MIDNIGHT, a performance unit composed of Chaesol, Cherry and Viva, who will perform the finale of the first album 'ALL DAY GOOD DAY' through the 4th track 'Party After Party' .


Haeun mentions, "I think the fact that there there are units which makes it as a feature of our group. I thought that it would be a good idea to show as it would attract the public more."


Good Day's C9 Entertainment includes other talented musicians from various fields such as Jung Joonyoung, Younha, Juniel, Cheetah, and Bae Jinyoung. Good Day is the first female group to showcase C9 Entertainment. Jiwon said, "We had a meeting and a first recording and the shooting of the Beauty Idol program which was the first time that I was in, so it felt strange and unfamiliar, but Younha kept talking to me and gave me a lot advices on inner beauty and diet tips. She even took care of me like a younger sister.” Chaesol said. "When we travel around the company, we have a chance to visit our seniors frequently, and we have had lots of warm conversations with them,". Viva added, "We were waiting to weigh in (to check for the diet weight), Cheetah who was passing by cheered me to go to the clinic and say, ’Why are you still weighed?’ (T/N: Meaning she’s already skinny enough so there’s no point checking the weight.)


In particular, Bae Jiyoung, who spent his childhood as a trainee, starred in "Rolly" music video and supported Good Day. “He came later in the company than us, however, we’ve never considered the whole senior-younger relationship much. But somehow, when Produce 101 Season 2 came in place, the profiles changed. Previously, as a trainee I was not surprised, but it was natural that we’ll end up meeting along the way. It was a long time so when we were filming the music video and after the debut of Wanna One, it was nice to see him do well in the group.”


Heejin said, "In the company, I take lessons where male and female trainees practice together. Even if we practice in the same space, most of us practiced individually but we practiced with same system of practice and greeting." Cherry said, "We were a little shy when we filmed together with Bae Jinyoung at the filming site in early August because it’s been so long since we saw each other since he debuted in Wanna One.” Viva said, "I had a close friendship with Bae Jinyoung but it has been a while since we saw each other so it was a little awkward.”


We watched Produce 101 Season 2 and rooted for Bae Jinyoung, who was eventually selected as the final 11 of the project group Wanna One. He will be active as a Wanna One member until December 2018. Viva replied, "We also watched the broadcast and picked Bae Jinyoung as our first pick in the program. I was shocked when I heard that I had received F. I felt a little upset upon hearing it.”

It was also a good motivation. Genie said, "I was very excited. I saw friend who had came out in the program and, came to the practice room after the filming and practiced hard. I also wanted to be on the stage quickly. I received good motivation from it.”


What are the goals that Good Day wants to get in the future? Cherry said, "We want appeal the public and give them chills when they see and listen to our music and the stages." Viva said, "We are saying that we are full of energy but other groups are likely to do the same. We want to make a good word when we are good or out." Haeun said, "When talking about the concept of Good Day, I think it is better to work harder so that it’s easy to understand everything later."


Jiwon mentions, "Our goal is to be in the top 70 on the music chart. If we achieve that, we’ve pledged to be a barista for a day in return. Our second goal is to get the Rookie of the Year award that we can only get once." Haeun said, "Our goal for ‘Rolly’ is also for it to be banned on CSAT (a test).” (T/N: The meaning here for it to be banned, means for it to be an addiction. Just like how SHINee’s Ring Ding Dong was banned because it was too addicting and students couldn’t get the song out of their head.)

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

For Unit Makers Who Have Supported Us

Heejin The Unit which I thought wouldn’t end has come to an end ㅠㅠ It’s a program where I got to learn a lot from. It was a really good experience for us Good Day as we are still rookies. Even so, I w

bottom of page